Top Six Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL Season

IPL is a 20-over league; therefore, bowlers play a crucial role in a team’s success. The player who scores the most runs throughout the IPL season receives the Orange Cap, while the player who takes the most wickets during one season wins the Purple Cap.

Every year, a specific bowler becomes more successful and dominant than others by getting the most wickets in a single season. A few of the best bowlers who have performed well during the season have won matches and made IPL history.

Let’s look at the pacers who took the most wickets in a single season of IPL.

Top Six Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL Season

Player  Team  Span  Wickets  Matches
Harshal Patel RCB 2021 32 15
DJ Bravo CSK 2013 32 18
Kagiso Rabada DC 2020 30 17
Lasith Malinga MI 2011 28 16
JP Faulkner RR 2013 28 16
Bhuvneshwar Kumar  SRH 2016 23 14

1. Harshal Patel Claimed 32 Wickets in Single IPL Season 2021

Harshal Patel, a right-arm fast bowler for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team, currently holds the record for the most number of wickets in a single season. With an impressive strike rate of 10.56, he became one of the highest wicket takers in just 15 games and claimed the purple cap winner tag.

Harshal Patel took the most wicket and recorded his 32nd wicket after he dismissed Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Venkatesh Iyer. His 32 wickets comprised a hat-trick, a five-for, and a four-for. He completed a hat trick by dismissing Keiron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, and Rahul Chahar in the 39th IPL 2021 match against the Mumbai franchise. It was a critical factor in RCB’s victory against Mumbai Indians.

The highest 32 wickets of Harshal Patel significantly contributed to the success of Royal Challengers Bangalore in the season’s knockout round. Because of his performance in IPL cricket 2021, Harshal Patel made his debut for the Indian team.

2. Dwayne Bravo Claimed 32 Wickets In the Indian Premier League in 2013

Bravo is well-known for being a champion of the IPL tournament! Dwayne Bravo claimed the most number of wickets in a single season. His accomplishment in the final 2013 tournament was outstanding.

Dwayne Bravo has been an integral part of the Chennai Super Kings and helped his club in the sixth IPL season by bagging 32 wickets in a single season of IPL 2013. He played in 18 games for Chennai Super Kings in 2013 and bowled about 63 overs, taking 32 wickets. Dwayne Bravo’s outstanding efforts at the 2013 IPL cricket will remain a memory.

The West Indian former captain and all-rounder, Dwayne Bravo, has undoubtedly been one of the most effective match-winners of Chennai Super Kings. One of his breakthroughs from that single IPL season was using the slower ball to trick batsmen. As a result, he owned the record for the highest number of wickets for seven years till Harshal Patel tied it in 2021.

With 26 wickets in 2015, Dwayne Bravo again set the record for most wickets taken and was awarded the Purple Cap.

Also Read:

3. Kagiso Rabada Claimed 30 Wickets in IPL 2020

Kagiso Rabada, a South African bowler, ranks third on the list of Purple Cap winners with the most number of wickets in a single IPL season when he played for the Delhi Capitals (formerly known as Delhi Daredevils). Kagiso Rabada came close to winning the Purple Cap in 2019, but he finally became the purple cap winner the following year.

He collected 30 wickets at an average of 18.27 in 17 games in 2020. Kagiso Rabada beat Lasith Malinga, a legendary Mumbai Indians bowler, who had a milestone of 27 wickets. Although, given his bowling expertise in Test matches, many believed Kagiso Rabada would fail in T20s; he picked up new techniques and adjusted to the environment and the T20 format.

However, his outstanding play and the deadly duo he established with Anrich Nortje drove Delhi Capitals (DC) to the final game.

Kagiso Rabada made his IPL career breakthrough in 2017 after being signed by Delhi Capitals, where he appeared in just six games. He has always been regarded as one of the IPL’s best bowlers of Delhi Capitals for his highest number of tickets and exceptional performance with the ball.

4. Lasith Malinga Claimed 28 Wickets in IPL 2011

Without a doubt, Lasith Malinga of Mumbai Indians is the best pacer in IPL history. This IPL’s highest wicket taker is ranked fourth for most wickets in IPL season.

Lasith Malinga has been the most intimidating bowler ever with a furious bowling attack. Mumbai Indians (MI) are now renowned because of Malinga’s dedication. In 2011, Malinga played 16 games and grabbed 28 wickets at an average of 13.39. Lasith Malinga performed at his peak and earned the Purple Cap in the fourth edition of the IPL. Dwayne Bravo surpassed his record for most wickets in 2013.

Lasith Malinga began his IPL career in 2009 after being chosen by the Mumbai Franchise. In his maiden IPL encounter against the Chennai Super Kings, he claimed three wickets to secure the win for Mumbai Indians. He participated in 122 games and took 170 wickets during his IPL career.

In the 2012 season of IPL, Lasith claimed the most wickets against Kings XI Punjab. Despite playing in 14 games, he has taken 22 wickets against the Punjab Kings.

5. James Faulkner Claimed 28 Wickets in One Season of IPL 2013

James Faulkner, an Australian all rounder player playing for Rajasthan Royals, had a standout IPL season in 2013. In the IPL, he now holds the fifth-highest season total for the most number of wickets taken.

With 28 wickets, James was the second-highest wicket taker in the 2013 IPL season while playing a pivotal role for his team, the Rajasthan Royals. In 16 games, he played 28 highest wickets, including four against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). This total also included two hauls of five wickets.

In the 2013 season of IPL, James Faulkner was at his peak. Although he did not win the Purple Cap, he ensured the audience recalled his effort for a long time. He had a significant part in the successes of Rajasthan Royals, who placed third on the points table rankings in the 2013 Indian Premier League.

James Faulkner began his career in the IPL season with the Pune Warriors and made his debut against the Delhi Capitals, but sadly there was no winner. Faulkner has participated in 60 IPL seasons and claimed 59 wickets at an average of 30.13.

6. Bhuvneshwar Kumar Claimed 23 Wickets in IPL 2016

The 2016 IPL season got off to a rocky opening, with past winners Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals receiving two-year penalties for fixing accusations.

Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions, two new IPL teams, took five players from the banned sides. The remaining participants were then reinserted into the auctions. In the past several years, the IPL has seen several teams, like the Deccan Chargers, be suspended.

Thanks to the bowling performance of Purple Cap winner Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sunrisers Hyderabad won their first-ever IPL championship under such tough circumstances. Kumar has been flawless with his bowling threat and has performed well, taking the most wickets of 23 in 17 games.


One of the most well-known cricket leagues in the world is the IPL season. Cricket fans worldwide eagerly anticipate the Indian Premier League final since it is the most exciting match of the year and decides who will be crowned champion.

The 2023 IPL season is quickly approaching, and fans have already begun to look forward to the exhilaration of the games. There will be new records set for the most wickets in IPL season.

Which bowler will smash every record and set the benchmark for most titles?  We need to wait and watch!

Related Posts

Log In
Sign Up
ℹ️ Password must be at least 8 characters long and include at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number, and one special character.
I confirm that I am 18 years old or over and I agree with Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.