Top 5: Most Wins (Matches) in IPL by Teams

The IPL has been a significant success since its inception and has attracted top players worldwide, including many current and former international cricketers. Fans are always looking forward to every season.

In March and May every year since 2008, 8 teams compete for the prestigious IPL trophy, but only one emerges as the champion. The team that has won the most match in the IPL so far is the Mumbai Indians, with 129 wins. Following in second place is the Chennai Super Kings with 121.

As expected with tournaments, one team can’t win all the time, but there are a few teams out of the now 10 (two teams debuted in 2022) IPL teams that make it a duty to win every match they participate in. Let’s find out who these teams are and what makes them so thick.

Top 5 Teams With The Most Match Wins In IPL 





Winning Percentage

No. of IPL Titles

Mumbai Indians 231 129 97 55.84 5
Chennai Super Kings 209 121 86 57.89  4
Kolkata Knight Riders 226 113 106 50 2
Royal Challengers Bangalore 228 107 113 46.93 NIL
Delhi Capitals 225 100 118 44.44 NIL

1. Mumbai Indians, 129

Mumbai Indians have won the IPL trophy five times, making them one of the most successful teams in the IPL. They are captained by Rohit Sharma, the team’s leading run-scorer, and coached by Mahela Jayawardene, the former captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team. Mumbai Indians’ home ground is the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Joining the league in 2008, Mumbai Indians finished 5th in the tournament, with its players Sanath Jayasuriya and Ashish Nehra scoring 514 runs and 12 wickets, respectively. Back then, the league was young, and the participating teams were not very experienced.

By the 2010 players auction, Mumbai Indians bought Kieron Pollard for $750,000 alongside ten uncapped Indian players, including seven former ICL players. Their strategy worked because they rose to the top of the table after winning seven of their first eight games and qualified for the 2010 Champions League.

Their winning streak began in 2013 when they beat the Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the last match and secured their place as IPL Champion 2013. They’ve won the most matches in IPL history, totaling 129 in 231 games with a win percentage of 55.84.

2. Chennai Super Kings,121

Chennai Super Kings is captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, which they acquired during the inaugural IPL season, and coached by Stephen Fleming. Other notable players in the successful team include Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ambati Rayudu.

Chennai Super Kings are close rivals with Mumbai Indians and have won 121 out of 209 matches, 21 matches less than Mumbai Indians following their two-year suspension in July 2015. Mumbai Indians have played the highest number of IPL matches totaling 231.

They played their first IPL match on 19 April 2008 against Kings XI Punjab, winning by 33 runs. That season, Super Kings finished third on the points table, with their first IPL trophy coming in 2010 after defeating Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in the IPL final.  Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL four times.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders, 113

Kolkata Knight Riders was the first team to play the IPL alongside Royal Challengers Bangalore. The team was formed in 2008 and is owned by Kolkata Knight Riders Sports Private Ltd. KKR has won the IPL twice and reached the playoffs several times. They play their home games in Eden Gardens, India’s oldest and second-largest cricket ground. They’ve won 113 IPL matches with a win percentage of 50.

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore,107

Royal Challengers Bangalore, has been playing in the IPL since 2008. It is owned by United Spirits, a subsidiary of the Diageo Group, and the team’s home ground is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The team’s captain is Faf du Plessis, and its head coach is Sanjay Bangar.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has a strong fan base and is known for its aggressive style of play on the field. However, they won only 4 matches in the first IPL season, finishing seventh in the table. RCB  has played 228 matches and won 107, with a winning percentage of 46.93.

The Royal Challengers have not won the IPL before, but their star player, Virat Kohli, is the IPL player with the most runs in one season with 973 runs. He’s held this record since 2016, and no one has been able to break it.

5. Delhi Capitals, 100

The Delhi Capitals franchise is owned by the GMR Group and JSW Group, with Rishabh Pant and Ricky Ponting as captain and coach, respectively. So far, the team has had some success in the IPL, reaching the playoffs several times and making it to the IPL final in the 2019 season after seven years, where they lost to the Mumbai Indians.

During the first season of IPL, Delhi Capitals defeated the Rajasthan Royals in their first match and the Deccan Chargers in the second. But 2013 was a different story for the Capitals as they lost their first six matches. They have lost 118 matches, making them the team with the most losses in IPL history.

One of their best seasons was in 2019 when they qualified for playoffs after seven years and won the Sunrisers Hyderabad by two wickets in their first match. Delhi Capitals are yet to win the IPL title but have won 100 with a winning percentage of 45.94.


The Mumbai Indians have won the most matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with 129 wins in 231 games. They have also won the most IPL title, with a total of five. The Chennai Super Kings are in second place with 121 wins in 209 games, and with their consistency, they might end up with another trophy by 2023.

Also Read:

Related Posts

Log In
Sign Up
ℹ️ Password must be at least 8 characters long and include at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number, and one special character.
I confirm that I am 18 years old or over and I agree with Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.