Teams With the Most Losses in IPL in One Season

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly the world’s best T20 league. The tournament’s popularity comes from its unpredictability. Nobody can predict the outcome of a game in a limited over format league. The majority of IPL matches are, therefore, so close and thrilling.

Many teams become the tournament’s stars, while others become the tournament’s weakest performers. If a team suffers a poor start or a string of defeats in the middle of the season, their chances in the IPL look unusually grim. As a result, one or more teams struggle to win that season.

This article discusses the IPL teams with the most losses in IPL in one season.

Delhi Daredevils (Now Delhi Capitals): Lost 13 Matches in 2013

Up to 2019, Delhi Daredevils was one of the Indian Premier League’s underachievers. With 13 losses in IPL 2013 season, Delhi holds the unfavorable record for losses in most matches in a single season.

Several well-known players in the Delhi franchise include David Warner, Indian opener Virender Sehwag, Ashish Nehra, and Ajit Agarkar. They failed to gain momentum throughout this competition, so they had the poorest season of any team in IPL history.

Deccan Chargers: Lost 12 Matches in 2008

In the inaugural IPL season in 2008, Deccan Chargers suffered a defeat. The team had 12 losses in IPl, 2008. Even though the team included top players like VVS Laxman, Adam Gilchrist, and Shahid Afridi, they could not create a winning combination. The Deccan Chargers’ top player in 2008 was Rohit Sharma.

VVS Laxman was initially handed command of this team in 2008. But in the middle of the season, Adam Gilchrist was given the captaincy. Deccan Chargers staged an incredible comeback the following year and won the IPL 2009 championship.

Also Read: Most Wickets in Cricket

Pune Warriors India: Lost 12 Matches in 2012 and 2013

In the 2012 and 2013 IPL seasons, Pune Warriors India had 12 defeats. The Pune team had several notable superstars, including Steven Smith, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, and Angelo Mathews.

The Pune Warriors India has the lowest win percentage in IPL history. They were never able to put together the right lineup. Later, the Indian team Pune Warriors withdrew from the competition due to monetary difficulties.

Delhi Daredevils (Now Delhi Capitals): Lost 12 Matches in 2014

In the 2014 IPL, the Delhi franchise faced poor performance. Delhi lost 12 games in the 2014 IPL. Even after adding important players soon before the IPL 2014 auction, they could not create the ideal squad. Nevertheless, the team recorded a win against Kings XI Punjab in its third game in 2015.

England’s Kevin Pietersen captained the Delhi club in 2014. Delhi has demonstrated consistency during the IPL 2019 season by making the playoffs in three consecutive seasons (2019, 2020, and 2021). They have yet to claim the IPL trophy, though.

Deccan Chargers: Lost 11 Matches in 2012

The Deccan Chargers are included on this list once more. In IPL 2012, the team had a disappointing season. The 2012 IPL season saw the charges lose 11 games. As a result, DC played their final IPL season this year.

Legendary WK batsman Kumar Sangakkara captained the DC team in IPL 2012. Other players of the 2012 season of Deccan Chargers were Shikhar Dhawan, Darren Bravo, and Chris Lynn.

Indian Premier League Teams with Longest Losing Streaks

  • In 2009, Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Punjab Kings in its first game but lost nine of the next ten games. Kolkata Knight Riders reversed its longest losing streak by winning its final two games of the year. One game against the Chennai Super Kings was called off.
  • Since the season’s beginning in 2022, the Mumbai Indians have suffered eight straight defeats. The five time champions, Mumbai Indians, have never started a season with a losing streak as bad as this one. However, Mumbai Indians won their tenth game against Rajasthan to get off to a winning start.
  • Despite losing the first qualifier and eliminator, the Delhi team concluded 2012 with 22 points after 16 games, which was the most in the league. However, before ending their losing streak in 2013, the Daredevils lost their first six games.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore lost its final match in the 2018 season. In the next season, 2019, RCB suffered six consecutive losses in IPL, increasing the total to seven.


The IPL is a thrilling league that brings together players from India and worldwide. The new IPL 2023 season will begin in March and showcase great players’ cricketing capabilities.

We will witness who will perform stellar this year and who goes on a losing streak. To bet on cricket you can visit the sports online betting page here.

Related Posts

Log In
Sign Up
ℹ️ Password must be at least 8 characters long and include at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number, and one special character.
I confirm that I am 18 years old or over and I agree with Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.