Most Successful Captain in IPL History

Over the years, Indian Premier League (IPL) has developed into one of the most popular T20 leagues worldwide, featuring teams filled with some of the best players globally.

The competition among the various IPL teams has always been intense, and each year brings a new set of avid supporters vying for their team’s victory. IPL history has seen some of the most talented players, coaches, and successful captains who have left an indelible mark on the league.

Captaining one of these IPL teams comes with enormous pressure and expectation. This post explores the most successful captain in IPL matches.

Most Successful Captains in IPL history 

Captain Matches Wins LossDraw No Results Win Percentage 
MS Dhoni204121820158.85
Rohit Sharma14379604056.64
Gautam Gambhir 12971571055.42
Virat Kohli14064693448.16
Adam Gilchrist7435390047.29
David Warner 6935322052.17
Shane Warne 5530241055.45
Sachin Tendulkar5130210058.82
Virender Sehwag5328241053.77
Shreyas Iyer5527262050.90

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

MS Dhoni is one captain that has stood tall amidst all IPL challenges. Hence, he is often called ‘Captain Cool.

With 210 games played as a captain, legendary Indian and Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni holds the record. He has a best winning percentage of 58.85 with 123 victories.

CSK won the IPL titles four times under the direction of MS Dhoni in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021, respectively. In addition, Chennai Super Kings has participated in 12 playoff games because of the outstanding leadership quality of MS Dhoni.

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni led his team to the most wins in the IPL matches.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Captaincy Record in All Formats

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has been the most successful IPL captain. He has commanded Mumbai Indians in 143 games, winning 7 of them with a winning percentage of 56.64. Among captains, Rohit has the best winning percentage. Mumbai Indians won the championship for the first time in 2013 and then again in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

With five IPL trophies to his name as IPL captain, Rohit Sharma is undoubtedly the most successful captain in IPL history. His ability to lead by example and keep a cool head in high-pressure situations has been instrumental in the success of the Mumbai Indians franchise. Under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians have become the most successful team in IPL history, a feat is a testament to his leadership skills and tactical understanding.

While Rohit is a lethal hitter, he eventually showed outstanding captaincy abilities and won the IPL’s best captain award.

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir has successfully steered his team to victory 71 times in 129 games as captain, posting the highest win percentage of 55.42. KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) won the IPL championship twice under Gambhir’s leadership in 2012 and 2014.

After failing to win the championship for four straight seasons, Kolkata Knight Riders finally succeeded in 2012, thanks to Gambhir’s leadership.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, the former Indian skipper, has led RCB in 140 games and has 64 victories with a win percentage of 48.16. Regrettably, Royal Challengers Bangalore has yet to win the IPL championship. The IPL’s most expensive hitting lineup has not yet struck it fortunate.

Even though Kohli has scored the most runs in IPL history, he could not yet lead Royal challengers Bangalore to the trophy.

Adam Gilchrist

In the first IPL, the Deccan Chargers team had an incredible lineup. But Unfortunately, their team fell horribly under the guidance of VVS Laxman.

The DC staff gave Australian Wicket Keeper Adam Gilchrist the captain position for the subsequent year. Selecting a player who has only ever served as vice-captain was a risk. Gilchrist, though, showed his leadership abilities in 2009. He led young players and won the IPL Trophy.

He handled the youngster players with great composure and tolerance as they reached the title. After that, Adam Gilchrist served as DC’s captain through 2013, and Deccan Chargers won 35 of 74 games during his leadership with a winning percentage of 47.29.

Shane Warne

Shane Warne coached the Rajasthan Royals for four seasons. He emerged to be Australia’s best captain in history. He demonstrated exceptional leadership abilities.

He led the Royals for the rest of the IPL season and their first victory in 2008 before leaving the team in 2011.

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar led the Mumbai Indians franchise well despite not having many successes as the Indian captain. Under his leadership, Mumbai Indians advanced to the 2010 championship game but lost to CSK.

Altogether, Sachin captained the team for 51 games, winning 30 for a 58.82 win percentage. Subsequently, Rohit Sharma succeeded him as captain.

Steve Smith

Steve Smith has demonstrated his leadership abilities in T20 leagues and on the international cricket stage. When MS Dhoni was replaced as captain of the Pune team in 2017, he performed a fantastic job.

He served as the captain of the Rajasthan Royals for several terms. Of the 43 games he commanded, Steve Smith triumphed in 25 overall. He became the second-most successful IPL captain as a result.

David Warner

David Warner has 35 victories out of 69 games played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL, giving him a winning percentage of 52.17. He has always taken the initiative and guided the squad to victory in 2016.

Warner has established himself as the most important foreign player in the IPL, scoring 5881 runs in 162 games, third highest in the league.


Cricket has always been a passion for many across the globe, and the Indian Premier League only further fueled this love for the game. The Indian Premier League has witnessed countless talented cricketers, including some extraordinary captains.

The most successful captains have shown tactical brilliance and an ability to lead by example on the field. It is not only their astute captaincy that makes them a success but their prolific run-scoring ability as well, making them one of the game’s most influential players.

Related Posts

Log In
Sign Up
ℹ️ Password must be at least 8 characters long and include at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number, and one special character.
I confirm that I am 18 years old or over and I agree with Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.