Most Consecutive Losses in IPL History By A Team

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has provided a platform for various cricket teams to showcase their talent and skills.

With their outstanding performances, teams such as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) have rewarded their fans with memorable experiences. But unfortunately, numerous IPL teams have suffered losses and cannot maintain their winning trend.

This article will discuss the most consecutive losses by some IPL teams in the last seasons.

Most Consecutive Losses In IPL

1 PUNE WARRIORS INDIA 11 2012-2013
2 DELHI DAREDEVILS 11 2014-2015
6 DELHI DAREDEVILS 8 2012-2013

Deccan Chargers (IPL 2008)

The Deccan Chargers (DC), headquartered in Hyderabad, India, were one of eight teams in the inaugural Indian Premier League in 2008. They won the IPL title in 2009.

The 2009 champions had a terrible start to the IPL’s inaugural season (2008), with the unwanted record of losing seven consecutive games.

The 2012 IPL season was again disastrous for Deccan Chargers. They suffered five consecutive losses to begin the 2012 campaign. The chargers only managed to win 4 out of their 16 games, and their 9 points put them in eighth place in the points table. That season was also the last for the Deccan Chargers in the IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL 2009)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have been on a losing streak in the IPL 2019 season. The KKR team struggled to adjust to the new setting as the 2009 IPL was played in South Africa, thus suffering nine consecutive losses.

KKR had failures despite having stars like Chris Gayle and Sourav Ganguly on the team. The Kolkata team had lost all ten early matches, with one being abandoned. In that season, KKR ended in last place.

Nevertheless, KKR turned around their situation quickly and found a winning combination. They won the competition in 2012 and 2014.

Pune Warriors India (IPL 2013)

Pune Warriors India (PWI) only competed in three IPL seasons, and they were not happy with their performance because they consistently fell short of the playoffs.

Pune Warriors India experienced a losing streak in 2012 when they had nine successive losses. Unfortunately, their terrible luck did not improve and persisted in the next season, 2013. They lost their first two games of the 2013 campaign, setting a record with 11 consecutive defeats, making it the longest losing streak in the IPL history.

Yuvraj Singh was a member of Pune Warriors India; however, they could not find a winning recipe and have the unfortunate distinction of appearing twice on this list of the longest losing streaks in IPL history.

Delhi Capitals (IPL 2014)

In 2014, the Delhi Capitals (then the Delhi Daredevils) lost their final ninth game, thus recording losses in nine consecutive games.

The Delhi Daredevils finished on the losing side in its opening 2015 matches after losing nine matches in 2014. But after over 350 days without a victory, Mayank Agarwal and Yuvraj Singh’s spirited performances ultimately brought the win. Delhi Daredevils team registered a win over the Kings XI Punjab in its third game.

In December 2018, the Delhi franchise received a makeover after rebranding. The investors changed the name from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals, and surprisingly Delhi made the playoffs and even ended in the Top three.

Mumbai Indians (IPL 2022)

Five-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) suffered eight consecutive losses in the IPL 2022. Mumbai Indians lost their eighth match in the 2022 IPL season to Lucknow Super Giants after failing to reach the 169-run goal at the Wankhede Stadium.

Except for Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma, the team’s batting performance in the 2022 season has been dismal. The most profitable team in the competition, Mumbai Indians, got off to a winning start by defeating Rajasthan in its ninth game.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (IPL 2019)

The 2019 Indian Premier League has not gone well for Royal Challengers Bangalore, as the team recorded six losses. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) had no way of anticipating the startling start to the 2019 Indian Premier League.

They traveled to Chennai to compete against the reigning champion Chennai Super Kings. Harbhajan Singh destroyed RCB on a sluggish pitch.

In reality, this is RCB’s longest losing streak in IPL history. They have lost seven straight games, including 6 in the 2019 IPL season. The team lost its final match of the last season in 2018, bringing the total to seven. To bet on cricket online and other sports betting you can visit the page here.


The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to start in March 2023. It promises to be an exciting season with some of the best players worldwide competing for the title.

This IPL season, we can expect some remarkable performances from players. The anticipation among the supporters for the winner’s announcement is high. Soon, the IPL 2023 will start, ending the surprise.

Also Read:

Related Posts

Log In
Sign Up
ℹ️ Password must be at least 8 characters long and include at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number, and one special character.
I confirm that I am 18 years old or over and I agree with Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.